Earsthetics: Aesthetics for The Ears

tumblr_static_tumblr_static__640
(taken from tumblr)

Lately, I’ve been getting into a lot of new music and all of it is really damn good so I thought I’d share it because I am completely drained of ideas. It’s time I take a break from listening to just super emo bands and BTS so I thought it was time for a change. The music I’ve been listening to is basically the audio equivalent to a tumblr aesthetic and I really like tumblr aesthetics. They’re like earsthetics. They’re aesthetics but for your ears. They make me feel things and have inspired me quite a lot lately in my poetry and just general life.

Before I get started, however, I thought I’d point out that some of these songs have major differences and they fit different “aesthetics.” My music taste has a lot to do with my emotions and I tend to listen to things that fit how I feel at the moment. Because of this, these songs contrast quite a lot because my emotions are pretty weird and conflicting. So, without further ado, here are some of my favorite earsthetics. And yes, earsthetic is a new word now because I say so. Don’t question it.

Idfc (Acoustic)//Blackbear

This song has been a favorite of mine for a few months now. It’s been kind of a go to when I feel sad about certain things and it perfectly explains how I’ve been feeling for the past few months. I say I don’t care about certain things when in reality, it tears me apart almost completely. The song has a lot to do with self destruction, justifying it by saying “I don’t fucking care” which, as bad as it sounds, is something I really relate to. I hate that I’ve felt that way but it’s the inescapable truth and I feel like this song itself has gotten me to understand it a bit more. Listening to this song has definitely been a pretty good coping mechanism for me so I would 10/10 recommend it. Just a fair warning though, it’s a bit vulgar but so are most of the songs on this list anyway.

Oh, also, if acoustic isn’t your thing, you can find the original (which is equally as good) here.

Favorite lyric: “Tell me pretty lies, look me in the face, tell me that you love me even if it’s fake”

Broken//Lund

I only got into this song a few days ago. I went over my friend Kyla’s house recently and she played this song and I thought it was really good. It bothered me that I didn’t get the name of the song but I decided to let it go. About a day later, I saw a video titled “aesthetic audios” and of course, I decided to click it because who doesn’t love a good aesthetic audio? This song was the first one and immediately, I searched it up and listened to it 400 times on repeat.

This song is really depressing. Basically, it’s about wanting to commit suicide all due to a messy breakup. It’s very sad but, I’m a bit critical of the lyrics because it does sound like the artist himself is being a bit emotionally manipulative to the person that this song is about. It’s like saying “I’m gonna kill myself if you break up with me” and that’s never an okay solution. I don’t like when people say things like that because it’s just like an added burden onto someone else but I do realize that there are people who genuinely feel this way and I encourage those who do to seek help because it’s a very toxic situation to be in. You shouldn’t be so dependent on others, especially when they hurt you. The reality of the situation is that you’re the only person you ever really have. It’s a sad reality but it makes sense because not everyone is sweet and nice. People are shit and it sucks but we have to deal with it.

Favorite lyric: “I got dirt in my eyes and blood on my sleeves but I dig my way up through these roots and leaves so I can get some air, so I can finally breathe”

You//Dodie

This only came out less than two weeks ago but already, it’s one of my absolute favorites. It describes a nonfunctional relationship that isn’t really serious, at least to the person she’s talking about. To me, it’s saying that she really hopes that she doesn’t love this person because the relationship itself was pretty much nothing and them leaving hurt a lot. All I can really say is same, Dodie.

Favorite lyric: “Whatever it was it was wonderful but nonfunctional”

Talk Me Down//Troye Sivan

Talk Me Down is about missing having a deep, intimate emotional connection with someone. Troye, in this song, is having very intrusive thoughts about an ex-boyfriend of his. It seems that rather than actually facing the situation in itself, he’s focused on his own fantasy and self destructive behavior because of the emotional pain he feels towards his ex-boyfriend.

Favorite lyric: “If you don’t mind, I’ll walk that line stuck on the bridge between us”

Alone//Lund

This song, just like all the other songs on this list, is describing a pretty unhealthy relationship. Like Broken, the first Lund song I listed here, it’s pretty much about feeling suicidal because of a broken, messy breakup. Like I said before, the lyrics are somewhat problematic to me because it romanticizes suicide which is never okay and it kind of puts an added stress on the person it’s about so for anyone feeling that way, I highly encourage you to seek serious help right away. That is a very toxic situation to be in and I honestly wish you the best on whatever recovery, if necessary.

The person who this is written about does seem to have been a bit manipulative and just overall, a pretty inconsiderate partner so I can sympathize with some of the lyrics but again, it describes a pretty toxic situation.

Favorite lyric: “And your words, they cut like barbed wire but that’s how it feels when you love a liar”

When//Dodie

When is a very pessimistic song and it makes me feel things– a lot of things. It deals a lot with regretting the past and just watching your whole life quickly go by in a blur which I feel is something I can somewhat relate to. Things just happen and it all just goes by in such a blur and honestly, it hurts a lot. I regret many of my past actions but at the same time, those actions also led to experiences that quite frankly changed me and made me who I am today. I feel as though this song, although it comes from the perspective of someone much older, is something that I can relate to right now and will grow to relate to more later on the future. That’s pretty inevitable.

Favorite lyric: “Am I the only one wishing life away? Never caught up in the moment, busy begging the past to stay”

6/10 //Dodie

I remember when this song came out very vividly. It was only a few weeks before school started and I was a nervous wreck. I was just about to start fresh at high school where I had no friends and more importantly, no social skills. All my friends from middle school settled for the school we were districted at and I lost contact with all but one who would later, turn out to hate me (the feeling’s mutual). I did eventually end up regaining contact with two people from middle school but that’s not the point here. I, of course, decided to go to a school out of district which, at the time was terrifying to me but honestly, now, I wouldn’t change anything if given the opportunity.

Back then, though, I was legitimately terrified because even though I had my older sister with me, I was still coming into high school with virtually no friends or social skills. For the first few weeks, I was filled with anxiety and was slightly depressed because everything was all too new and I didn’t want to fuck anything up like I had in middle school. This song perfectly describes what I felt at the time. Actually, it describes a lot of what I’ve been feeling recently too just to a lesser extent.

Favorite lyric: “I’ll close my mouth, I won’t say a word. A nod of pity for the plain girl”

Drugs//EDEN

I only recently got into this song about 3 days ago but I love it so much. It too describes a very toxic relationship, as have the majority of the songs. The song describes a relationship ruined by drug addiction which could either be taken in a literal sense or a metaphorical sense. In a literal sense, one of the partners in this relationship is a drug addict and because of that, has become neglectful of their partner to the point where they’re just strangers despite being in a relationship with each other. In a metaphorical sense, one of the partners is a toxic human being but for some reason, it’s hard to let go of them because they are like a drug themselves. This person has literally become addicted to a person so much that it feels like a drug addiction and it is tearing them both a part.

Favorite lyrics: “But I’m addicted to hurting and I got these lungs and I spent too many late nights thinking a hole in the earth”

Hell Is Where I Dreamt of U And Woke Up Alone//Blackbear

This last song is by one of my favorite new artists, Blackbear. I’ve been listening to quite a bit of his work lately and in all honesty, every song by him is an earsthetic but if I were to put all of it here, it would be way too much work so I would definitely recommend Blackbear as an “earsthetic” artist himself. However, I would like to point out that his songs heavily reference drugs and sex. They’re very vulgar so just keep that in mind if you plan on getting into his music.

As for this song itself, it’s one of the first Blackbear songs I’ve ever gotten into right after Idfc. It has a lot to do with self destruction (surprise, surprise) as have many of the previous songs. In this song, he is, to put it very bluntly, doing lines of cocaine because he’s depressed and has completely shut down emotionally.

Favorite lyric: “And I swear to god if the drugs and alcohol don’t kill me, I don’t know what will other than you”

aesthetic-alien-alternative-break-favim-com-3264486
An aesthetic describing my earsthetic. You’re welcome (taken from favim.com)

Well, I guess that’s it. I don’t really know how to end this but if you ever find yourself in the situation where you feel very violent, self destructive emotions having to do with any of the themes dealt with in these songs, I would 10/10 recommend them. They have helped me tremendously get through certain situations and make me feel so much better after listening to them. They also inspire a lot of the poetry I write (when I’m in the mood, that is) so I think “earsthetics” themselves are beautiful gifts sent from the heavens and I cherish them greatly. Out of all these artists, I recommend Blackbear and Dodie the most because, although they are different aesthetics, they’re really talented and their music is amazing. As for earsthetic honorable mentions, I would recommend Medicine by Daughter and Youth, also by Daughter. That’s it for now. You’re welcome for blessing you with my emotional earsthetics and bye, for now my children.

One comment

  1. Oh my god! Dodie is an angel! Your music taste is actually amazing though. If you’re ever looking for anything new, try Declan McKenna! His songs are very ‘tumblr’ especially ‘the kids don’t wanna come home’ really nice post btw 💛

    Like

Leave a Reply

