Not-So-Epic Love Story Because I’m Bored

I wanna try something a little different and write a short story. This was mainly inspired by a tumblr prompt so let’s hope it’s not totally crappy. I intend on writing a lot more short stories here and hopefully I can keep my word. I will probably also make a Wattpad account (because I lost the password for my old account, sadly) for longer, more developed stories so when that’s up, I will link it somewhere on this blog. Now, without further ado, here is the shitstorm:


How could I be so stupid? How could I let her go? I stared deep into her eyes from across the room and I swore I could see it in her too. Her beautiful green eyes were clouded with tears and shifted from one direction to another as she noticed me staring. For a second there, it felt like we had a connection again. Sure, it’s not the connection I wanted but it was close enough.

I gave her a friendly smile in an attempt to lighten things up between us but all I got in return was a cold look of acknowledgement as she turned back to her work. As much as it bothered me, I tried to let it go and went back to my own work but goddamn was it hard. She was so close yet so far away and it had gotten to the point where it physically hurt. I was numb.

Soon enough, the bell rang and I thought I’d be able to easily escape the tension as everyone filed out the classroom, her being one of the first ones but of course, as I walked through the crowded halls, my head down and my heart racing in discomfort, I was pulled aside. I looked up, expecting to see one of my asshole friends but it was her. She wiped her watery eyes with the sleeve of her sweatshirt and greeted me in a stuffy voice.

“Oh, hey. How do you think you did on the test?” I asked, trying to avoid any tension.

She looked at me with the same painful look she had just given me before. “Actually, I wanted to talk to you about something different, that is if you’re fine with that of course.”

“Look, if it’s about-”

“I know, I know. I probably shouldn’t be worrying about this but,” she hesitated for an uncomfortable about of time before continuing, “Look, I miss you. I fucking miss you.”

At this point, my heart was pounding right out of my chest. “I miss you too. I love you.” She held onto me sobbing as I held her for the first time in what seemed like forever. Then, the fantasy ended.

“Get the fuck up!”

I rolled out of my comfortable position and stared at the ceiling trying to continue the movie in my mind as much as I could. It pained me that this wasn’t our reality but I clung onto my many lovesick fantasies as they were the only thing that gave me solace.

“Girl, did you hear me? I said get your fucking ass out of that goddamn bed!” my mother screamed.

As much as I dreaded getting up, I did so anyway. “Good morning, mother.”

“Get dressed; you’re gonna be late.”

I obliged and quickly dressed myself in sweats and threw my hair in a bun before brushing my teeth and putting on deodorant.

The car ride to school was painfully silent. I stared out the window as if I was in some melodramatic movie scene.

“I’m sorry for yelling at you earlier but you need to start getting up on time,” there was a long pause as my mother waited for me to reply which I refused to do. “You seem down lately. Is there something you need to tell me?”

“No. Bye,” I said coldly before exiting the car.

The day went by in a blur. I can barely remember much of what happened because I was so focused on a fucking fantasy that I couldn’t even think properly. Why was she the only thing on my mind? How could one person fuck with your head to the point where it’s impossible to function as a human being? All I can recall is seeing her in the halls and in class clearly not giving a fuck about me. Sure, at times, we’d make awkward eye contact but for the most part, she completely distanced herself from me. In her world, I didn’t exist. I wasn’t important and was just there as some fucking background character despite all we’ve been through. However in my world, she was everything. She was all I wanted and I fucking hated myself for not realizing that earlier. Now it was too late. I’ve done a lot of stupid things in my life and I’ve made a shit ton of dumb mistakes but nothing could ever top this. I should have loved her when I got the chance, that is my only regret.


I’m sorry this is so short and half assed but I literally just put this together in the matter of about 10 minutes. I may or may not continue this. It depends on how I feel in all honesty but hopefully that was enough to get you hooked??? I don’t know. I think I’m a pretty mediocre writer.

Leave a Reply

